Oh hai. I’m back. And I need a cape!

So, I don’t know if this happens to everyone, but I often find myself desparately wanting something that I would have dismissed as ugly or impractical just a few months before. For example, I was anti-wedge for quite a long time, but woke up one morning a few years ago and realized that I had to have a pair. I am still wearing the shit out of the first pair I purchased–unless you want to be charitable and call the nasty platform shoes that I wore in the 90s “wedges,” which would be terribly nice of you.

Capes and I are now having a similar relationship. Up until a week ago, I thought capes were impractical and silly and a little over-the-top. Now I MUST HAVE ONE. And I may also need leather gloves to match, dammit!

My current favorite is this one, which I will not purchase, since I cannot afford it (unless I forgo a new winter coat, which I need, and boots, which I want) and I was hoping to be responsible and buy something vintage.

bluefly capeAs far as vintage, I  really like this one, but a) it’s a little, ahem, loud, and not particularly classic, and b) some bitches are going to drive up the price of that motherfucker because it’s at 9 bids already and we have 6 days to go!

leopard capeI like this cape too, but it’s more than I want to spend on something from eBay that I haven’t seen in person, and then there’s this one, which I am undecided on because the fabric could be gross and I think I would want to change the closures.  Still, I am going to give it a few days thought and may wind up getting it.

Obviously, I’m still in the infancy stage of my cape hunt, and my lust for one may fade as time goes on, though I doubt it. I’m just praying that I don’t wake up tomorrow and decide that leggings and gladiator sandals are the shit I need about 12 pairs of each.

5 Comments

Filed under clothes, stuff I want

5 responses to “Oh hai. I’m back. And I need a cape!

  1. nadarine

    you KNOW I am 100% in support of cape acquisition. Do it!
    eBay is an excellent place to start, as is the vintage section of Etsy. As I’ve learned, if you’re wearing a cape and lovely long leather gloves, people will just assume you’re fashionable. (eBay is also a godsend for elbow-length leather gloves.)

  2. I certainly know that feeling of waking up with the conviction that what was ugly yesterday is more than desirable today!

  3. truculentandunreliable

    Nadarine–I will keep looking.

    I do have a question, though. What do you do with your bag when you’re wearing a cape? I mean, a little purse would probably be fine to keep under the cape, but I often carry a pretty big laptop bag, too. Do I put my arm through the hole and carry it over my shoulder, or what?

    This is why I avoid things I decide are impractical…I have enough trouble putting my underwear on right-side out in the morning that I worry that I can’t manage the complexities of carrying a clutch or wearing a cape!

  4. nadarine

    Ah, the bag dilemma. I hate it. I haven’t figured out a good way to carry a messenger bag/laptop bag while wearing a cape, unless the cape is seriously huge and flowy. Small bags are worn under the cape, and I suppose if the cape is large enough, a larger bag could be done in the same way. I fear that it might give me an accidental hunchback look, though.

  5. truculentandunreliable

    Dude, hunchbacks are TOTALLY IN this season!

    I guess I just need to wear it when I don’t need to carry much stuff.

Leave a Reply

